Founders Day 2019


Founder’s Day Celebrated at G.S. Amonkar Vidya Mandir, Mapusa Goa


The Founder’s day celebration of G.S Amonkar Vidya Mandir took place on 15th December 2019. The function began with the inauguration of the school exhibition and the garlanding of the bust of our founder Late Shri Gundu Sitaram Amonkar followed by the lighting of the lamp at the hands of the dignitaries. The Chief guests  were Smt. Shubha Borkar and Shri Harish Zantye. The other dignitaries present were Chairman of New Goa Educational Trust Adv. Sanjay S Usgaonker, Manager Shri Mohan Koul, Headmistress Smt. Gayatri Shirsat, Asst. Headmistress Smt. Pooja Dalvi, the trustees  Shri. Raj Amonkar, Shri Gurudas Natekar, Shri. Prashant Mahatme, Shri Suharsh Usgaonkar, Shri. Ajay Sardesai, Shri. Shantaram Shet, Shri Sudin Usgaonkar and Shri. Sanjay Naik.


The awardees were given floral welcome by Smt. Roshan Shet.  In his welcome address, The Chairman of the New Goa Educational Trust, Adv. Sanjay S Usgaonker enlightened the gathering about the life of the Founder, late Shri Gundu Sitaram Amonkar who was a fascinating personality, loved and respected by all those who had the chance of coming in his presence and a disciplinarian always striving for excellence along with a zeal for social reform. A small cultural programme was held highlighting the important aspects of Indian culture through songs and dance. This was followed by the award ceremony. The Chief Guest for the function Smt. Shubha Borkar was presented with the G.S. Amonkar Excellence Award by the trustees of the School Managing Committee. The Distinguished Alumnus Award was presented to Shri Harish Zantye, it was accepted by his son Shri Pravin Zantye on behalf of his father. The Acceptance speeches were given by the Awardees Smt. Shubha Borkar & Shri Pravin Zantye on behalf of Shri Harish Zantye. Thereafter Shri Girish Keni, Shri Mahesh Swar, Shri Darshan Vani, Smt. Shakuntala Mahatme, and Shri. Srihari Bhat were felicitated for their contribution towards the development of school infra structure. Smt. Pooja Dalvi, Smt. Amita Humraskar and Shri Sandesh Shirsat were felicitated for the successful organisation of School Reunion. Teachers Laura Pereira, Poonam Naik, Ajay Kothawale and Nutan Ghadi were felicitated at the hands of Shri Mohan Koul for their outstanding performance.


Miss Shivani Kamat ex –student was felicitated for selection by Lokmat daily to have inter – action with Shri. Narendra D. Modi, Prime Minister and Mast Arfath Shaikh Inspire Manak Award  winner was also felicitated. Students were awarded with scholarships  in appreciation of their outstanding performances in various curricular and co-curricular activities. This was followed by the release of a School  Manuscript Magazine ‘ Muktangan’  at the hands of Smt. Shubha Borkar.The vote of thanks was proposed by Trustee member Shri Gurudas Natekar . The Comperes for the program were Mrs. Zena Viegas and Mrs. Poonam Burye.