New Executive Committee of G.S. Amonkar’s Parent-Teacher Association Established

New Executive Committee of G.S. Amonkar’s Parent-Teacher Association Established


The General Body meeting of G. S. Amonkar’s parents-teachers association was held recently. The headmistress of the school Mrs. Gayatri Shirsat, Deputy Headmistress Mrs. Pooja Dalvi, the Chairman of the school Managing Committee Adv. Mr. Sanjay Usgaonkar, teachers and a large number of parents were present. Former Vice Chancellor of Goa University Dr. Satish Shetye was the Chief Guest for the function and former headmistress of the school Mrs. Mabel De Sa was the Guest of Honour.

The students scoring distinction at the recently held Goa Board Examination 2021-22, were felicitated by the PTA. Mr. Aditya Sawant, Ms. Parthivi Naik and Ms. Kashavi Prabhudesai were specially honoured for their outstanding performance in the field of sports.

The former headmaster of the school, Shri. Vivek Kharade and the former physical education teacher Shri. Tukaram Patil were also felicitated by the chief guest. Appreciating the hard work of the non-teaching staff of the school, the PTA felicitated them at the hands of the dignitaries.

The chief guest in his speech said that our education system puts more emphasis on rote memory which helps only in the short term. It is more important to understand a concepts before memorizing it he said. He also emphasized the need for children to sleep well. He said, what we learn during the day has an effect on our brain and is absorbed into the brain when we sleep at night.

The secretary of the PTA, Mrs. Salita Naik read the minutes of the previous meeting. The treasurer, Mrs. Teena Mandrekar read the financial report of the PTA for the year 2021-22. At the end of the program, a new executive committee of the parent-teacher association was formed which is as follows;

Chairman – Shri. Vaman Khorjuvekar

Vice President – Shri. Kashiram alias Prasad Mhambre

Secretary – Mrs. Prajaya Singh

Joint Secretary – Mrs. Pritam Halankar

Treasurer – Shri. Alok Barve.

Other Members – Shri. Sameer Shirodkar, Shri. Vishnu Gawas, Dr. Pragya Nasnodkar, Mrs. Sheetal Naik, Shri. Umesh Bandodkar and Shri. Ramesh Polji.

Various issues were discussed during the open session of the meeting. The entire program was hosted by Mrs. Nita Costa Pereira and Mr. Alok Barve. The vote of thanks was given by the PTA member, Mrs. Sheetal Naik. The meeting ended with the singing of Vande Mataram.